Honest, Compassionate And Aggressive Representation
  1. Home
  2.  — 
  3. Criminal Cases & DUI
  4.  — Will my insurance be affected if I get a DUI?

Will my insurance be affected if I get a DUI?

On Behalf of | Sep 22, 2023 | Criminal Cases & DUI

If you get a DUI in Tennessee, the cost of your insurance will increase. The only question is how much it will actually go up. On average, the annual cost of insurance in Tennessee increases by 46% for those who have been convicted of DUI. That’s lower than the nationwide average, which is 65%, but it’s still a significant increase.

You may also have trouble finding an insurance company that is willing to insure you after you get a DUI.

The prices that you will be facing for car insurance after a DUI will vary a great deal, depending on the insurance carrier.  Even car insurance carriers that are generally known to be affordable under normal circumstances are often not affordable after you have had a DUI. It is really important that you compare policies from the different carriers carefully to make sure that you are getting the best deal that you can.

What happens if this is not my first DUI?

According to the laws in Tennessee, the state has a 10-year DUI lookback period. In other words, if you have had more than one DUI in the last 10 years, your charges will be escalated beyond what you will have if your DUI is a first-time offense. That could mean increased penalties and increased fines. In the event that the accident that you caused injured another person, or a fatality, and there was a minor involved, the penalties will be enhanced as well.

The more DUIs you have on your record, the more severe the penalties and the higher the fees. For example, a first-time offender will get 48 hours to 11 months in jail, will have their license revoked for a year, will be ordered to participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program, have to pay restitution to any person who suffered personal injury or personal loss and will need an ignition interlock device at the offender’s expense.

A fourth-time offender will yet a year in jail (365 days), a mandatory fine of between $3,000 and $15,000, will have their license revoked for eight years, will have their vehicle subject to vehicle seizure/forfeiture, will be ordered to enter a drug and alcohol treatment program and will need to install an ignition interlock device at their expense.

Getting effective legal support

If you have had a similar experience to what was described here, it is essential that you go through the legal process in the most effective way possible. Hopefully, the result of that will be that you will walk away with the smallest penalties and fees possible so that you can look to a brighter future and move on with your life. You may not be responsible for what you are being accused of doing but if you are, you will demonstrate your accountability and be free to live your life and to protect your rights.